PDA

View Full Version : Need help understanding Neck Tension

ghh3rd
01-16-2011, 10:28 AM
I keep hearing about neck tension, and how important it is toward consistent accuracy. How does one control neck tension? Although I've been loading for about two years, I still basically clean my brass, then resize using the same die each time, resize the boolits the same way each time, etc.

I can tell it's an important component of reloading, but can't seem to glean enough information about it from posts - can anyone elaborate on how you can check for correct neck tension, and adjust it if necessary?

Thanks - Randy

PAT303
01-16-2011, 10:33 AM
I'm having Buckshot make me some M die mandrels for all my cartridges and have bought crimp dies and Lee collet neck sizing dies for each to get some consistancy in my rounds. Pat

Larry Gibson
01-16-2011, 10:38 AM
You can use bushing dies with the appropriate size bushing to size the necks just enough (my foavorite technique).

You can use an appropriate size M- die or expander to size the inside of the case neck to the appropriate size.

You can lap out the sizer to just size the cases enough.

Probably a couple more but those are the most common ways.

Larry Gibson

btroj
01-16-2011, 10:48 AM
Neck tension is controlled by the final internal diameter of the neck of the case before seating a bullet. It , combined with bullet diameter, determine the neck tension. The other factor that needs to be addressed in some cases is the temper of the neck. Freshly annealed cases will have less spring to them and will give lower neck tension. Cases that have been thru many size/ fire cycles will have more spring which can affect neck tension.