PDA

View Full Version : So I learned something the hard way.

Dorado
01-13-2011, 08:16 PM
Ok, I'm a total beginner to casting. When starting I made some ingots out of some lead I found and cleaned up. I water quenched them to speed up cooling. What I didn't count on was a water pocket forming in one of them and the next time I went to use it, it blew up in my face...Literally. I now have a nice set of burns, some on my face, others on my hands. I took it as a lesson on not allowing water to get into a hot lead pot. OUCH!!!!

Ole
01-13-2011, 08:17 PM
Face shields and long sleeve shirts are cheap!

Springfield
01-13-2011, 08:24 PM
Buy more ingot moulds, lots safer and cheaper in the long run. I have enough to do 75 lbs at a time, in 3 different configurations. I have had smelting pots throw lead on me a couple times, never want to do anything to make it worse. Damp ingots are bad enough, bubbling away in the casting pot.

Charlie Two Tracks
01-13-2011, 08:29 PM
Sorry to hear about that but thanks for reminding me. I was casting some HP boolits awhile back and water dropping them. I reached into the bucket because I saw a badly formed boolit laying there. I grab it and .......... I came so close to dropping it into the pot. If that hollow point was full......... not good.

fredj338
01-13-2011, 09:12 PM
Instead of water quenching, just use an old towel & wet it really well. Put the mold on top of it after your pour to help it cool faster.

mroliver77
01-13-2011, 10:45 PM
All my ingots are preheated or put in a cold pot and brought up to temp along with the pot. That's your one mistake we allow you. ;) Welcome and keep us updated on your progress. There is a lot of information in the stickies and such to aid a newcomer to casting.
Jay

*Paladin*
01-13-2011, 10:47 PM