PDA

View Full Version : How fast with a plain base?

Blackhawk45hunter
01-12-2011, 12:12 PM
Hi guys, I'm still a little new at this.
I wanna start casting for my 45 colt but money's kinda tight.
I was looking at the Lee 452-255-RF mold to start with. I figure I can use it for targets and light hunting until I get
The 300 grain GC mold I want.

My question is, how fast can I push this bullet cast in WW without leading problems?

I'd like to be around the 900 mark but I'll take whatever I can get as this will be a plinking round.

01-12-2011, 12:18 PM
Seems the most agreed upon velocity is 1400 fps. Of course, alloy and fit must be appropriate.

Blackhawk45hunter
01-12-2011, 12:21 PM
1400 with a plain base???
If that's the case I'll up it to around 1200

gnoahhh
01-12-2011, 12:40 PM
One can drive a plain base bullet a lot faster than is prudent in a lot of .45 Colts. Which gun will you be shooting them through?

Blackhawk45hunter
01-12-2011, 12:42 PM
My bad, I forgot to mention it's a Ruger Blackhawk and yes, I also plan on some hot rodding :D

Blackhawk45hunter
01-12-2011, 12:44 PM
So what's a reasonable velocity to try for?

georgewxxx
01-12-2011, 12:45 PM
You mentioned getting a gas check mould at some point. I doubt very many people bother using gas ckecks in a hand gun. Another expense not needed. Just make sure the boolit your using now is big enough for the gun you are using to keep it from leading. WW's is usually the best alloy for what you want to do....Geo

Blackhawk45hunter
01-12-2011, 12:47 PM
So a 300 grain bullet @ 1100-1200 fps doesn't need a gas check?

76 WARLOCK
01-12-2011, 12:54 PM
44 Mag at 1200 sized .432 plain base no leading. The throats are .432 with a .429 plain base leaded badly and groups were in feet not inches.

Harter66
01-12-2011, 12:57 PM
I'm shooting the LEE 452-255 rnfn at 1100 in my RBH with decent accuracy and no leading.

All 6 holes land in 8" out to 50 yds the 225 man steel is really a 1 in 4 thing though.

Blackhawk45hunter