PDA

View Full Version : First try 9mm flat primers, why?

DetForMe
01-12-2011, 02:21 AM
Hi, this is my first attempt at reloading. I had the help of a good friend that has some experience with reloading, and is also the member of this forum, so I won't mention any names since he's stumped too. We followed the Lyman 49th edition reloading manual for data, went .1 grain above minimum load. Shot about 40 rounds through my Kahr CW9 and everything seemed to cycle fine. I didn't notice any excessive recoil, although I'm not sure that means much. I didn't notice the problem until I read The ABCs of reloading. It looks like I have flat primers and breach machining marks on the head of the case.

Load data is as follows, 4.2 grains Alliant Power Pistol, 147 grain FPBT cast lead boolit (Missouri Bullet Company "sub-sonic" grinell 15), Brass Length prior to firing 0.743" -+0.001 (supposedly once fired same headstamp), OAL 1.061", CCI small pistol primers.

Brass length after firing 0.739" -+0.002.

All this seems to say hot load, the thing thats really confusing us is that we both triple checked the scale for the right weight. Could it be compressed powder somehow?

lwknight
01-12-2011, 02:41 AM
I load all my 9mm at 1.150 OAL.
You are 100/1000 deeper than the bullet was made for and using a charge
that would be just fine if you had another 100 thou in case capacity.

If you have to seat the bullet so deep because of a tight forcing cone then you need to reduce the load.

DetForMe
01-12-2011, 03:15 AM
Hmm strange that the Lyman manual says flat point is ok at that length. Are you loading ball or flat point?

deltaenterprizes
01-12-2011, 03:19 AM
Bullet depth is critical on such a small internal capacity case like the 9mmm Luger. .030'' can raise pressures dramatically. Seat your boolit out as far as you can that allows it to still fit in the magazine.

Windy City Kid
01-12-2011, 03:41 AM