PDA

View Full Version : New to the Cast Boolits Forum

Big Cholla
01-01-2011, 03:55 AM
Hello All: I'm checking in with my first post. I am retired from both Construction Engineering then Law Enforcement and I have been messing with guns and casting since I was 16 years old. I cast regularly for years and then got away from it for about the last 15 years but now want to get back into casting for my own consumption in my pistols (.38/.357, .40, .44 and .45).

I have a big problem with all my old molds that I will get into in another post. I need help in reconditioning them correctly. I just came into a huge supply of wheel weights, which to my surprise are not all wheel-weight lead anymore. I'm going to need some real help there. Anyway, I will be reading and researching some more before I start asking questions. .......... Thanks for having such a great Forum! ........... Big Cholla (go ahead, ask about the screen name)

geargnasher
01-01-2011, 04:08 AM
Welcome to the insanity! I was about in the same place you are when I joined almost two years ago, I've learned more in that time than I would have in five lifetimes on my own. Turns out I had been doing it all wrong for fifteen years.

Great advice, recommendations, you name it. Many common questions have been addressed in the "classics and stickies" sections, lots of helpful folks here if you don't see what you're looking for there. If you want to know about moulds, lube, boolit design, alloys, casting technique, related casting and reloading equipment, "smelting", fluxing, brass prep, tweaking guns to better shoot cast, decoppering, deleading, etc. I think the best advice on the web is to be found here.

Gear

Big Cholla
01-01-2011, 04:14 AM