PDA

View Full Version : 22 CF for cast bullets?

okiecruffler
10-26-2006, 10:57 AM
Okay, I've figured out my next barrel. I want a 22 that I can cast bullets for, the ultimate in cheap reloadable shooting. I'm leaning toward the 218 bee, mainly because the hornet brass annoyed me so much when I was playing with it. So between the Bee and the Hornet, which one is easier to deal with brass wise? Ballistically they look about the same with the Bee using just a tad more powder. Or, a bit more exotic, how difficult would it be to size a 22 Jet with a .224 ball? Any other suggestions?
I posted this over on the speciaty pistols board and basically got the response that I's be crazy to even deal with 22 cast bullets. But now that I'm a master caster of 357 bullets, how hard can it be? So what are you guys playing with?

Trigger44
10-26-2006, 11:21 AM
Casting .22 cal bullets is not a lot more difficult than say .357. I have been doing both since 1959. I would suggest the 222 Rem as a great place to start. I loaded this cartridge for years with 12.0 gr 4227 and the Lyman 225415 sized to
.225. Lub was a good quality wheel bearing grease. Talk about cheap 22 ammo.

I currently load for the .22 Hornet and custom built 22 BR. Most of my shooting is target these days, so I slill use the slightly messy wheel bearing grease. Never
is leading a problem, nor loading in a cold garage which is a problem for the firm lubs. I cast 22 bullets in six different designs from three mould makers. For .22 bullet casting I think you realy need to have some tin content, say 3-5%.

I shoot the Hornet with sub sonic loads to 2500 fps with a 55 grain gas check.
Twist on the Hornet is 1:12" so the 55 grainers shoot very well. The 22 Br seems to like most loads with the slower powders like H4895 and 3031.

Hope this helps

357maximum
10-26-2006, 11:30 AM
http://www.reloadbench.com/cartridges/w224rc.html

felix
10-26-2006, 11:34 AM