PDA

View Full Version : bullet diameter question

Fomdiddle
12-31-2010, 01:54 PM
I am fairly new to casting. I cast some for my 45 colt from a Lee TL452-230RN from WW and they mike from .442.5 to .443 after water quenching. Isn't that too small? Thanks in advance

excess650
12-31-2010, 02:10 PM
If they're only .442" they'll fall through the barrel without touching the rifling. Surely you mean .452"? They should be at least snug going through the cylinder throats, and hopefully, that diameter is larger than the groove diameter of the barrel.

SP101GUY
12-31-2010, 02:11 PM
Are you sure that's not a 44 mold? Those are pretty small #'s for a 45 mold.

AJ

HammerMTB
12-31-2010, 03:42 PM
I think you need to recheck your data.
I doubt the mold made for .452" boolits is dropping .442"
and it's too big for a .44, which should be .430 or a bit bigger.
Likely just a mike reading error.

white eagle
12-31-2010, 04:04 PM
you probably mean .452.-453
I hope .............
otherwise like the others say you got the wrong mold
anyway if they are 452-453
you are rite on the smaller end but
nothing out of cal..

geargnasher
12-31-2010, 10:33 PM
I don't know of any mould that would cast .442, the next size down from .45 is .44 (.430ish), he did say 452-230 rn, tumble lube. Either a typo or the measuring instrument is faulty.

My money is on this: They were meaured with digital calipers, not a micrometer, and the calipers weren't zeroed before the meaurement.

A better question is what does the groove diameter and cylinder throats measure?

Gear

btroj
12-31-2010, 11:39 PM
Like Gear said, let the gun tell you what size you want. Not a book. Not the instructions from the mold. The gun.
Fit bullet to gun and all is good. Fail at that and risk leading.

Fomdiddle
01-01-2011, 01:02 PM