PDA

View Full Version : A dangerous practice

Jim
12-24-2010, 05:43 PM
I've seen dozens of photos over the years of the results of stupid things other people have done. I did something incredibly stupid today and it almost cost me dearly.
I decided to document (http://fgsp.wordpress.com/2010/12/24/a-dangerous-practice/) it and post it. Hopefully, somebody will be impressed by my mistake and not make it.
I decided to make a blank with a .303 British case for my Taurus Judge. The mistake I made was not in trying this. It was in failing to use proper load work-up procedures. And what amazes me, after the fact, is that I've been handloading for thirty years and KNOW BETTER!
The revolver is not damaged and I am not injured. But it could have happened. And on Christmas Eve, at that.

Circuit Rider
12-24-2010, 05:53 PM
Jim,Glad you're ok. I've been loading ten years and have been very fortunate because of some things I did without thinking them through. Most people wouldn't have said anything, I admire you for admitting a mistake. Merry Christmas to you and all the members at Cast Boolits. Circuit Rider

AZ-Stew
12-24-2010, 06:01 PM
Jim,

I'm not coming down on you, but I have a VERY healthy respect for Bullseye. It's a very energetic powder and the heaviest loads I found for it on the Alliant web site use 7.0 grains. That's a plenty stout load and would surely supply the desired "bang" in a blank. But using three times that much as a starting load? :holysheep, man! What were you thinking?

I'm thankful neither you, the gun or anyone else was hurt. Thanks for Christmas miracles!

Be careful out there, folks!

Regards,

Stew

Jim
12-24-2010, 06:07 PM
Well, Stew, that's why I posted this. I WASN'T thinking.

firefly1957
12-24-2010, 06:09 PM
Glad you were not injured it looks like the case could not expand quick enough.