PDA

View Full Version : Need help with casting problem

Sendaro
12-22-2010, 08:28 PM
Greetings, I'm new to this form and need some help with a casting problem that I'm having. About a month ago I started to get back into casting again after selling all my casting equipment back in 1986. Back then I cast pistol bullets from linotype and had good results. Now I've started to cast again, but for a rifle this time. The rifle is and old Stevens 44 in 32-40. I have been doing OK with casting the boolitz untill this past weekend. The problem I'm have maybe a contaminant in my lead that I'm useing. Here is what is happening. I have been running the pot temp. around 650 degrees and laddle pouring in single and double cavity molds. The boolitz started to cast nice and fill out well and then they looked like they were wrinkled and not filling out well after casting nearly 1/3 of the pot. I turned the temp. up and they again started to look good. It was running at 750 degrees at that time. Then the boolitzs started to drop wrinkled and not filled out again like the mold was cold, but it wqas not. I smoked the mold and fluxed the pot all to no avail. Does this sound like I have a bad batch of lead? Would like to hear what you may think the problem is. I have been using a Lyman Big Dipper pot and Lyman thermometer to tell the temp. My laddle seems to have a coating building up as I'm work. I keep it in the pot when I'm not pouring, and dip to the bottom before I make a pour. When I weigh the bullet that are cast from this lead they should weigh in at 165 to 168 grain for the SAECO #632 mould that I'm using. However they are dropping out at 171 grains. Does it sound like the tin was burned out of the alloy or there was not enough tin in it in the firs plase. I'm puzzeled and need advice. Should I just throw out the material and try to find some new lead and tin? [smilie=b:

runfiverun
12-22-2010, 09:06 PM
i think you just oxidized out the tin you had.