PDA

View Full Version : Springfield Hawken 50 Cal.

Slingshot
12-22-2010, 10:15 AM
Hello all,

I have fired Muzzle loading rifles years ago when I was a kid, my father was heavily into them. Me being a kid of course I wanted something that went BAM BAM BAM BAM! not POOF!

As I get older I am starting to lean toward black powder cartridge rifles and Muzzle loaders. I just picked up a Springfield Hawken 50 Cal. with a 1 - 66" twist. I know round balls will work fine in it but I would also like to fire Minnie, maxi or other types of projectiles from it. I am novice here so forgive the ignorance on my part.

Will any of the Lee molds work ok in this rifle? Such as the REAL boolits? or is the twist to slow for these type of projectiles? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Also, what would be a good starting load? I am using GOEX 2 F BP. I have a box of Hornady .490 round balls that I plan on using to get the feel of it before I start casting my own.

I would be interested in trying some other boolits out if anyone casts for it. I would be willing to pay for them or trade. I have plenty of center fire boolits available to trade in different calibers.

Thanks in advance,
Jeff / Slingshot :drinks:

Josh Smith
12-22-2010, 01:03 PM
Hi Slingshot,

The load on the 58 caliber Minie balls was 60 grains 2Fg. Any more, and you risked blowing the skirt.

The twist you have will work best with round balls or the Minie ball. It will likely not work too well with modern black powder cast bullets. They are designed around a 1 to 48 twist.

Out to about 100 yards, the lead round ball has a greater terminal effect than most conicals.

I really think you would like the patched round ball better than the conical anyway. It cleans with soap and water, no scrubbing lead out.

Josh

northmn
12-22-2010, 01:21 PM