PDA

View Full Version : Is Pyrodex so bad?

coopieclan
12-14-2010, 10:46 PM
Is Pyrodex so bad?
I thought all BP shooters used Black powder substitutes.
I am new to this. 777 and these others are not as good as the original "Black Powder"?

I should know before I buy more of this stuff.

docone31
12-14-2010, 10:53 PM
I use Pyrodex. I like it.
I do not recquire extreme accuracy though. I am happy just with hitting what I aim at.
Others have sais BP ignites easier with marginal ignition systems. Especially Flintlocks.
I got Pyrodex as I heard it was cleaner than BP. Now I am not so sure BP is that bad.
I got a lot, but when it is gone, I am going to switch.

DIRT Farmer
12-14-2010, 11:26 PM
I have tried most of the subs, most will work if you work at it. Be sure to clean and clean some more. I have tested enough powders and have decided to just shoot from now on. The games I shoot require black powder to acheive good results, so as long as I have ffg, fffg, and ffffg I am good to go.

hickstick_10
12-14-2010, 11:35 PM
Its impossible (for me) to get good ignition on a flintlock with pyrodex. I need to use real black in the pan ad 5 grains under the main charge in the bore = Instant ignition, just as good as real black. For paper cartridges (rifles and revolvers) I find pyrodex does have more hang fires, not enough to care to much, but enough hang fires that I remember them. Straight down the bore in a caplock with a good hot cap, I can tell no difference in ignition.

The one thing Pyrodex has going for it is that its readily available. Otherwise, nothing really beats real black powder.

lathesmith
12-14-2010, 11:41 PM